Weekend Warriors

61 and sunny tomorrow in Goodman. Yeah buddy, we’re there. Mom needs a little bit of decompression time.

I wasn’t going to go. I was going to sit around, do laundry and in general be a lump. But that doesn’t sound relaxing. Or like a good time.

There is no better time to hike to the falls and wander in the woods than in the fall. The crisp air and the smell of the trees seems to permeate every fiber of my being. It makes a me feel alive. And sometimes in the hustle and bustle of daily chaos, I forget to do that living thing.

Let me digress…

My life is a mess of things that all need to be done now. You know; the kids, work, errands, meals, et cetera, et cetera. I hit the ground running between 5:30-6:30am, do chores, wake the kids, start laundry, get dressed, wake kids again. Then it’s work, back home at lunch to move laundry, eat, back to work, finish out lunch with some yoga and plug on for another 4. When I get home, my other “positions” kick in…tutor, chef, drill sergeant, chauffeur and National Bank.

Now I have to say, I can’t imagine my life without all of it. It wouldn’t feel complete if I didn’t do the things I do. There is something to be said about the satisfaction of knowing how damn good you were that day. Even yesterday, my whining post. After work I watch Boo beat her last meet time by almost a minute and a half 🙂 I got my Bubba J signed up for his violin lessons, we had awesome stromboli and found time for our read aloud.

My neighbor was giving me crap yesterday about my schedule. “Carrie, I noticed you have been running like a chicken with your head off. Never a dull moment! So, what do you do in your free time??” a nice smart alec chuckle. Free time??

Ok, well, that’s not entirely true. I have 3 hours to myself every Thursday night….

So any how, to get back to it, I am super stoked about being in the big woods with the kids. We can see Grampa, walk to the falls and have a bit of time out of the city….10 more hours and I can put it down and walk away for the weekend 🙂

Hope everyone has a great one!

Leave a Reply

