Revamped Paella. Courtesy of Yours Truly

I have never made Paella before. My old boss/good friend Mike, aka Mr. Huskey, has told me many times that I need to try it.

I was a little skeptical, I have only had the soft chorizo before, and my tummy did not like it. But we have been in a same-stuff-different-day rut for meals lately. I wanted something different.

I found the recipe in my Fanny Farmer cook book. And holy time consuming! Almost an hour and a half between prep and cooking. So I kind of followed the directions and kind of made my own, substituting boneless-skinless chicken and Minute rice for bone-in-skin-on chicken and long cook rice . It only took 30 minutes and man was it good 🙂

Here is the recipe! I don’t generally blog recipes, so there is only a “finished product” shot. But still yummy!

20120127-181704.jpg

Paella

  • EVO
  • salt and pepper
  • 4 boneless chicken thighs
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • pinch of saffron (about an 1/8 tsp.)
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 2 Chorizo sausage links
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 3 cloves garlic, grated
  • 2 cups small shrimp
  • 2 cups Minute rice

Put the saffron in a small dish and soak it in a couple tbsp of the broth, set aside.

Pre-heat your oven to 350. Break out a round glass casserole, set within reach.

Heat about a tbsp of the EVO in a large skillet. Salt and pepper chicken well and toss into oil, browning on all sides. Put in the oregano and a couple tbsp of water and cover for 10ish minutes. While chicken cooks, slice the chorizo into thin discs. Remove chicken onto cutting board, pouring liquid into the casserole dish.

Put the chorizo in the pan and while it browns, dice the chicken. Put both the chicken and chorizo into the casserole.

Drizzle a little more EVO and cook onions and garlic until soft. Push to the side and melt the butter, adding the rice and saffron broth. Cook for 5 minutes. Add the rest of the broth, cover, and cook for 5 more.

Pour the cooked rice on top of the Chicken and chorizo in the casserole. Scatter the shrimp on the top and pop it in the oven for 5-10 minutes, just long enough to heat the shrimp through.

That’s it! And Lord is it yummy. Nothing like a good meal to make you smile 🙂

If you try it, let me know in the comments!!

xo

Leave a Reply

