Nice Tattoo. Hope You Don’t Want a Job.

Just about sums up my mothers’ view, anyways.

My mom and I have a great relationship. We really do. We talk almost every day. I have built rapport with her; she greatly respects me, my way of living and my parenting.

But the other morning she said something that made me want to reach through the phone and slug her in the throat…..

We were talking about the conversation I had with my father. The one that I mentioned the other day in my post. I used an analogy that he could understand to bring him to the revelation that what I do is necessary. Good for my future. On the path to my goals.
So anyhow, she says to me “Well yeah. I mean if you didn’t have back-up in experience and an education you couldn’t very well go into an office and get a job. Not with those earrings and those tattoos”.

I didn’t even know what to say.

This topic is a hot button for me and has been since I was 15 years old. Granted, she was usually right, but it STILL irritates the bejesus out of me. She has, for as long as I can remember, judged a person’s….value shall we say, on their clothing. Not to say expensive versus cheap, but one style over another. If you were a boy with long hair and black t-shirts you were a dirtball. Even if you went to class and were a nice kid. If you wore Dead shirts, baggy or bell jeans and sandals, you were obviously lazy and unmotivated and probably smoked pot. One out of two maybe….

And the tattoo thing. She will compliment the artistic value and follow-up with a comment about what people must think of me because of my tattoos. Like employers will overlook my education and my experience and say no because I have a tattoo. Like the teachers and office ladies look at me and immediately think that I am a bad mom, probably a partier. Inattentive to my kids. Uhm…not so much. They knew me as a person before they ever realized I had tattoos. They liked me our first meeting.

So I want to know why. Why do you judge someone with a tattoo? Is it a generational thing? What about having a beautiful flower, symbols of faith, and my children makes me “unworthy” of a good spot? I mean yeah. If I was hiring for sales and the guy on the other side of the table had a pot leaf tattooed on his forehead, it probably wouldn’t be a good fit. But alas! I have no offensive tattoos. And I DO NOT want to be in sales. Will it REALLY add a large stone to the path I’m carving?

If someone could explain this, that’d be great.

xo

Leave a Reply

