Kick A$$ Ribs

BBQ ribs are one of the best treats in the house. And I scored some babybacks on sale 🙂 Ms. Boo had her favorite meal last night.

Not to toot my own horn, but I am one helluva cook. The only problem is that I cannot just tell people a recipe. There isn’t one. I just have the knack of knowing what goes together, what doesn’t and how much salt you need. 
I like a dry rub, and a slow cook. I don’t have a smoker, and rarely grill it (I do not have the instinct for grillin’). But they are some of the best ribs you will ever eat. I can’t give it all to you, but that’s why mine is mine :). There are some necessary ingredients that if left out will really change the taste.

Please remember, the palmfulls, dashes, and pinches have been changed to standard measure. But don’t quote me on it, and God forbid should you measure perfectly!!

Kick A$$ Dry Rub for Ribs

  • 1/2-3/4 C Brown Sugar
  • 1/8 C chili powder
  • 3 tbsp McCormick Montreal Steak Seasoning
  • 1 tbsp coarse salt
  • 20ish twists of cracked black pepper (sorry about that one, but I haven’t a clue about how much you get per twist of the grinder!)
  • Crushed red pepper flakes, heat to your liking

Preheat the oven to 250. Put the ribs on a cooling rack that’s placed in a baking sheet with edges. If you have a broiler pan, those work great. My kids hijacked mine.

Pat a generous amount of the rub all over the ribs. Pour water into the bottom of the pan, cover tightly with tin foil and bake for 3 hours, keeping an eye on the water; don’t let it dry out. Uncover and crank the heat to 400 for the last 15 minutes, crusting up the edges, and the sugar from the rub.

Toss a baked tato on the side and slather with your favorite sauce. Or eat ’em plain. Either which way, these ribs kick a$$.

xo

Leave a Reply

