The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

With my graduation quickly approaching, I have been hitting the job boards hard. Right now, I am an intern. And you can’t be a student intern if you aren’t a student. Then trying to find a job? It sucks. Just sucks. At least when I was uneducated I knew my role. Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad I went back to school. Changed my life; outlook, self-esteem and confidence. It made me a better person. But there’s still good, bad and downright ugly sides of it.

I digress…

Good

The skills I have acquired from my classes at Fox Valley Tech are awesome. I did live work in twitter, on a website, created a web page that is still active. There have been marketing materials and databases and research reports. For real companies in my community.
In the last four years I have taken the opportunities presented with leadership seminars, Student Board and the Wisconsin Student Government Association. All these things have added a lot of depth to my resume.

Bad

The only problem with this “depth” is that it’s school experience. It doesn’t count. I have been working with Twitter and WordPress on a semi-professional level for just over a year, on a personal level, close to 2 (for the SM). Yet when I apply for the Social Media Assistant job, I haven’t the 1-2 years experience. I can show my site creation, but since it’s on a school server because it’s a project (though it will be real in 2 months (: ), it doesn’t count for experience. Crap, I say. A bunch of Crap.

Ugly

And to add insult to injury, companies are pretty much forcing you to apply online. There is no face-to-face. No opportunity to sell yourself, even if it’s just a 30 second impression. Those can make all the difference in the world. But instead you creat a beautiful cover letter and a great resume, hit send and in t-2 minutes you will have a rejection. Honestly. I got 5 yesterday. Because not all the boxes they want checked have not been checked.

Better to be pro-active, I suppose. I figure that one of the most important things I need to do is “optimize” myself. If I do make it past their screening, I want to make sure what I do is able to be found. That when I say I have experience working in Twitter, they can look. I can write content and take initiative; see my blog?  I’ve Dreamweaver design experience, would you like to see the site?

A portfolio with links to all of my stuff is a good start, no? Put some photos of my print ads from marketing comm class. A resume, HIRE ME button, and SM links. But what’s the best place to build it? Suggestions, please?!? Thank You 🙂

xo

….or I could just dig out my cape and do my super hero bit.

2 comments

  1. GBconsultant (@consultantIT13) · April 10, 2012

    Stay yourself, You are competent, Your ideas are original, you have a “beautiful feather” (you write very well) I do not know if this expression exists in English. Anyway you must find a good job if not I can’t understand. Otherwise, I don’t understand the human nature.
    stay optimistic and obstinate

    • Amomand4kids · April 10, 2012

      Thank you so much 🙂

Leave a Reply

