Teach Your Children Well

Weekends like the one just passed are few and far between; not often do I get to see all the people I adore in a matter of 72 hours. It was so baller, I’m still stoked about it 🙂

Saturday my Dad came with his girlfriend. Cooked out, played some b-ball, had a great time. Saturday night we went to moms. Colored eggs, watched movies. Got up Sunday, went to mass, had an Easter egg hunt. The family was all together, life was good. Then Sunday night I brought my girls out to a backyard band at the corner tavern. Listened to some great music, saw some dear friends.

I also got to see first hand a couple of the ways I taught my kids well. And that is stellar, too.

Sunday night out listening to the tunes and Boo says to me

“Ya know, I don’t like all their music.”

“Oh?”

“Nope. But mom, they are sooo good. Bobby is so cool on that guitar. And they play awesome together. Thanks for bringing me down.”

I was so proud to hear that. Seeing beyond your likes. And it spreads so much farther than the music. She understands the concept with people, too. There are plenty of kids that she doesn’t like. Not because they’re “bad” but just because she doesn’t like them. Realizing that helps her to not partake in gossip and bullying. Because just because it’s not her thing doesn’t mean there’s anything wrong with it. Why hurt someone for that?

Friday evening was a little trying, as the first day with E on visit usually is.

She was consistently going against what she was telling Bub she was going to do. Whether it was a game, something they were going to cook together, or whatever, she let him down.

Being the sensitive little man that wants to fix his own problems, it festered until he got super obnoxious, and everyone was irritated with him. I took him upstairs, we brainstormed some coping ideas, and he fixed. He even apologised to her for being obnoxious, even though it was her actions that brought it out. Accountability. Even when someone does something bad, your reaction is your choice. Be accountable for what you do, no matter how you feel about “who caused you to do whatever”.

Sunday at mass was cool.

The service was very nice. Short, interesting, lots of good hymns. My niece had never been to church, and wasn’t too sure what to do. Mr. Stink took her under his wing in the nursery and they played. The girls checked in on them a couple times to make sure all was good. And when I had to run home to hide eggs (Papa forgot lol) they watched the boys and Al for Gran and everything went well. Stepping Up. No kid is awesome all of the time. But I know that when I need my kids to be responsible and helpful, they will be. I can trust them to have my back and do the crisis management. God knows they’ve seen it in action a hundred times.

Yeah, there’s some stuff that needs work. But they are well on their way to becoming awesome people. I don’t really know, not completely, how I got ’em to be this way, but I do know some of the things. I asked Boo 🙂

  • Accessibility:
    I am always around for my kids. I have been fortunate enough to have flexible employment for the last 9 years. They know that no matter where I am or what I’m doing I will drop it all and come rescue them.
  • Honesty:
    When you lie to your kids you’re digging your own grave. If you tell them you’re going to do something, do it. If everything is going wrong and they ask you about it, tell them. You don’t have to give details, but they can know the basics of the situation.
  • Fun:
    I am super fun to be around! Or so I have been told. By my kids, and their friends. I like to listen to music and dance in the kitchen with them. Scare them and teach them how to cook. We take walks and play games and shoot hoops. And there isn’t much better company.
  • Flexible:
    My kids and I work through problems. I don’t just ground them and be done with it. They work for me, with me, doing yard work and housework and running errands. We talk about stuff and brainstorm. Yes, I take privileges and they are gone as long as I say they will be. But there’s a lot of thinking that goes on for the kids. I’d rather work em for a couple days, take their stuff for a week, and go back to life as usual than to have to deal with a long grounding.
  • Encouraging:
    No matter what they do or how bad they are at it, I always encourage the kids to try their best and give them props for their effort, at the least. I don’t pick at their faults, only point them in a better direction. Negativity is “not allowed” around here. So I had best lead!
  • Helpful:
    I will lend a hand to whomever I can, whenever I can. And if it involves work, my kids will help, too. And during the trip we talk about why we are doing that; the question inevitably gets asked…”Why do we have to do this?”. And I usually answer with something along the lines of “Because they are our friends and they asked us to help. We didn’t have much else to do.”

How do you make your kids great??

xo

Leave a Reply

