C’mon, Teachers. Educate.

A traveling meth lab was busted in Boscobel WI last week. There was a little girl in the back. With the lab.

In 2008 there were 482 OD related deaths in the State. There was a heroin bust last fall with 25+ people being arrested for distribution. In a area largely populated by families with school age children.

Methamphetamine and Heroin is finding it’s way into our communities and our schools.

One would think, with these things being in the news, that the schools would be teaching our kids about the dangers of these highly dangerous drugs.

As I said, One Would Think….

Miss Boo started her drug unit in health class at the beginning of May. She came home and was telling me about all her teacher talked to them about alcohol and marijuana. She had some great information about the DD stats; deaths, accidents, etc. I asked her what they had told them about meth and heroin. Being a 12 years recovered meth junkie, it’s important to me that her school backs my teachings about those drugs.

“Nothing”, she tells me.

“What??”

No. They don’t teach them about heroin. Nor do they teach about meth. It’s mentioned, but there is not the week long teachings about it like there is with the marijuana and drinking. And that really irritates me.

Don’t misunderstand. I am happy that she’s learning about alcohol. It is SO destructive, yet legal. And all the legality does is lead young kids to believe that it can’t be that bad, or it wouldn’t be legal. And the weed? It’s illegal. And can be destructive, as anything else if not used with care and common sense. I don’t particularly want my kids using either. But there are worse things.

S’anyways, why would we not want to educate our kids about drugs that could easily kill them their first try?? How come there isn’t an intense intervention process for these drugs that are in the news (related to death)? Maybe they don’t know what to say.

Unfortunately it’s unfathomable for many to understand really how it is. How one lives, or doesn’t, when getting caught up in drugs. Most people can not imagine what it’s like not knowing ANYONE with a job. Or a car. Or a home. It’s not a life that a large percentage gets out of alive. Many of my friends didn’t.

Thankfully, I have talked to my (older) kids about the consequences of my abuse here and there throughout their lives. They are fairly aware of how horrible it is, and the mental and physical problems that can occur due to that abuse. But maybe it’s time to watch Basketball Diaries. About a high school star turned wicked junkie. A great reality check for the kids; it can happen to anyone.

…As I am writing this, I think that maybe this is something I need to get involved in: Speaking to the kids during their unit. Offering my story in all the nasty detail. Scaring the hell out of them. Hm. Not a bad idea.

xo

 

Leave a Reply

