One of the Lucky Ones

As you may have seen from yesterday, we spent a great weekend up in the north woods. Wonderful šŸ™‚

As we were sitting there on Saturday eating dinner with my mom and dad (who have been divorced since I was 15) it really hit me; my kids and I are extremely lucky.

I hear from a lot of people who once their parents divorced, there was no getting them in the same room with each other. Let alone talking and mingling. And my parents do. They have put any old grudges and hard feelings aside not only for my brother and I, but for our children. It’s not uncommon for us to go to mom’s house up north, a block away from dad’s house, and all have cookouts and breakfast together. It’s so much cooler than having them not talking!

Why are we lucky?

  • My kids always know that they can talk to one about the other and not listen to BS
  • I know that if I have an issue, the three of us can sit down and make a solution.
  • There is no time wasted; we can have a “vacation” all together, no one gets left out.
  • When the going gets tough the uber tough forces of my parents will unite and kick some ass if I can’t do it alone.

Not only does this make us lucky, but there is such a powerful lesson to be learned, I think.

  • It’s that there is more to life than being angry and holding onto hatred.
  • Getting along with someone you don’t like is a choice!
  • Life is so much bigger than the things of the past, and for the future to be bright one sometimes needs to suck it up and get over it.

And if that’s not enough, well I’m sure you can find more reasons. These are the ones I see on a regular basis šŸ™‚

Are you a lucky one?

xo

Leave a Reply

