You’re 13. Really??

I’m a bit of a snoop when it comes to my children’s’ online activities. They know it and suck it up and deal. It’s not going to change.

Most of the time I see innocent, stupid stuff. Jokes, pictures and the like. But unfortunately there are days like today (or, Tuesday, as it were).

Go on a-snooping; read a couple messages, look at her wall, etc. There are messages from a boy name Michael, so I look. I had on good authority that she’s “dating” a guy we’ll call M. Not the one but she does cough up M’s last name so I look at his wall. They’re friends, of course.

And there, on his wall, in capital letters, with a little heart, read the following words; “HEY BABY <3”.

Oh No.

My first instinct is to post something that I would write if I were in the situation. And I am very fluent in profanity when it comes to that sort of thing. Thankfully common sense prevailed and I haven’t done anything. Need to talk to her first.

…and so I did and she didn’t want to do anything about it. She was just embarrassed because she knows he’s this way. Ah young love.

But I’m still steaming.

How does a 13 year old kid get it in his head to be a player?? Where is the filter that says “this isn’t right”??

What do you think of this behavior out of kids? I’m curious, because I don’t know what to make of it. Thanks for your input!

xo

Leave a Reply

