Job Hunting Sucks

And work sucks, too. Just sayin…

I’m at the point of having a love-hate relationship with my jobs. Yup. Both of em.

One I like what I do. When I’m left alone long enough to do it. Revamping the website/SEO, social media, and blogging. Plus updating the courses and checking grades. It’s rewarding; I’m getting results, views are up on the site and blog. Followers have doubled on Twitter and tripled on FB. Students are very happy. And that’s a great feeling. But like I said, 9 times of 10, I’m not left alone long enough to get much of anything accomplished.

My other job, well, that one I do not care for at all. Not in that the work sucks, but in that there’s barely ever enough to keep me busy for 1/4 of my scheduled hours. I don’t work we’ll like that.

S’anyways, I had an interview yesterday. I was confused from the get-go. The email said “I see you want to expand your experience in Internet marketing. We may have a position for you”. In sales. Uhm, huh?

If you know me at all, that statement would make you laugh in itself. Short funky hair, gaged ears, visible tattoos. Not really salesman material, if you get my drift. But I went anyway. Kind of a waste of time. And gas. Not even gonna lie. And I don’t think my resume or cover letter shows ANY interest in sales at all, aside from listing sales classes as core courses.

What’s my point?

I read a really cool article the last night. About job hunting. One of the key points was to not settle for something you don’t want. Don’t take an interview just because its an interview (shoulda read that a week ago, before I accepted the interview).

The only problem this poses, for my location and I, anyways, is that there isn’t much for me. And I’m not that finicky, fairly easy to get along with. I don’t mind working for someone as long as its in my field of interest, but I don’t want to be someone’s bitch, either.

I do have my freelance work. And I LOVE it. But it’s not enough to bring home the bacon.

Hopefully my interview tomorrow for webdesign and social media goes well, even though it’s only part time.

*Sigh* I’m getting frustrated already and have just gotten back into the hunt. Just gotta keep telling myself to be thankful I have a job. 2, at that. 🙂

xo

12 comments

  1. Enchanted Seashells · January 4, 2013

    wow, my whole life i’ve had jobs i’ve hated and a life i love. why can’t i mesh the two ever??? oh and what would i have to do to get you to work on my SEO?

    • Amomand4kids · January 8, 2013

      I can’t terribly complain on either end, though it would be nice if either one or the other was consistently good or bad!
      What do you need optimized? I’d be more than happy to help you!

      • Enchanted Seashells · January 8, 2013

        I’m not sure if the tags/categories are ever being picked up by search engines or if I have the right ones or how to get more active in all that SEO stuff. I’m a bit clueless on all counts!!! (and thank you!)

      • Amomand4kids · January 9, 2013

        You’re welcome!
        Generally tags and categories are picked up pretty well. The biggest key is not having too many of either. I will take a look at your stuff after work this evening and get back to you!

      • Enchanted Seashells · January 9, 2013

        Thank you so much! I’m hoping somethings wrong so I can blame that for not having a zillion readers, ha ha!

      • Amomand4kids · January 9, 2013

        Hello again!
        I have a couple suggestions that could help your SEO.
        Fewer keywords, directly related to the blog at hand. 5 @ most. Same with categories. Avoids spreading yourself too thin. And the more the keyword(s) show up in the content the more they’ll show in a search.
        Ya know how you can customize your “post to Twitter” message? Use a hash tag or two. #blogging is good at the end, then one related to the content…#LoveChanel? 🙂
        If you’re feeling particularly ambitious, hit up linked in for some great blogger groups!
        If I come up with s’more suggestions I will pass them along!

      • Enchanted Seashells · January 10, 2013

        Thank you! I just posted before I read your email so I will take all your suggestions and start them tomorrow! and thank you, I will go to linked in. Thank you!!! I never knew about hashtags. Like how do I do it, after the link or before?

      • Amomand4kids · January 10, 2013

        You are very welcome!
        Hash tags can go anywhere. Take this tweet….
        My secret to a happy #marriage
        http://t.co/Q6FWXHrM #blogging
        Hope that helps!

      • Enchanted Seashells · January 10, 2013

        OMG I am so behind the times, thank you so much for this!

  2. German · January 16, 2013

    Hi there would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using? I’m planning to
    start my own blog soon but I’m having a tough time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

    • Amomand4kids · January 16, 2013

      I’m on WordPress and I love it!

  3. Marcelo · July 27, 2013

    Good day! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m definitely enjoying your
    blog and look forward to new updates.

Leave a Reply

