Why I Write

People ask me all the time “Why do you blog??” Like I’m some kind of sinner or something. I think that when people who have no clue hear that you’re “a blogger” they think that you just seek attention and want to air your dirty laundry. Humph. Only on occasion.

Often times, I write because I have something to say and no one to say it to.

Seriously.

No one in my little world really has much of an interest in my ramblings. The DSBF doesn’t have kids, therefore doesn’t think about many of the issues, from education and vaccines to dealing with the other parents. My Mum is past the stage of needing to care, though is a good sounding board for another opinion on things.

But I suppose it’s a little more than that.

  1. Exploration
    There are the times when I want to write, but not sure what I’m going to write about. The simple desire to write leads me to seek out things I might not have thought of. To look into a piece of the world I might have otherwise missed. It drives me to see things I may have missed in order to appease the drive to write.
  2. Learning
    Looking outside myself, really brings new dimensions to my life. It give me a broadened understanding of what’s going on around me. And possibly, most important of all, allows me to see why people think differently than I do.
    When you’ve explored other people’s opinions, whether through a blog, an article, a forum, or a video or podcast, you can get a better feel for why people have a certain attitude towards XYZ subject. It may challenge your beliefs/thoughts/ideals. Or it may simply reinforce your outlook. But regardless, it makes you think.
  3. Hope
    This sounds silly when I say it out loud. But it brings me hope. When I write on something I feel strongly about, like my past post on welfare reform, I hope that someone with influence will see it. I hope that maybe people will decide to join with me, vie for change. It brings me hope that in my own little way I may be able to make change in the world.
  4. Therapy
    There’s something incredible therapeutic about writing. It’s almost like a counseling session. When is sit down to write and begin by bitching about my craptastic situation, I come up with the answers to solve the problem. WordPress is like my own personal therapist, so long as I’m looking at it in the right light. Or write light. Whichever the case may be.
  5. Networking
    Granted, I usually post on life in general. Kids, relationships, goings on. But when I find something to talk about regarding web design, job hunting, or social media, this here little piece of real estate can be a powerful networking tool. It allows me to show that I am not just a psycho-analytical nut job :). I have a brain and know how to use it.

There’s my top 5. Why do you write??

xo

Leave a Reply

