Let’s Hear it For New Beginnings?

Today was an odd day for me.

To hear of the end of things is always hard. Whether you know it’s coming or not. And I keep trying to tell myself that the end of something is only to leave room for new beginnings. Right?

When I got to my internship at the tech today, I was greeted with an email from my supervisor notifying me that my internship was up at the end of this semester. That’s Friday. The blow was deafening. I have been there for 2 1/2 years. And although it was not my favorite job, I loved the people I worked with. I loved the freedom of setting my own hours. It was generally fun, and I will miss it. But I guess this is my kick in the ass to motivate myself to really push my freelance. I have the LLC, might as well use it.

But starting over is hard! And change is hard. My whole being balks at it, silently screaming “I don’t want to!”. But I will. And I’ll learn to like it, some day.

The other “end” was much more sad. While scrolling through my FB feed this evening  I came across a posting that the Dairyland Surf Classic has run it’s course. Say Aloha because there will not be another. I can say that I had the wonderful opportunity to be a part of it, and for that, I am eternally grateful. I will save the memories in my heart always. That was a place I got to know someone that will always be close to my heart. I got to have a mis-adventure that weekend in 2011. I found a little piece of me I didn’t know existed. But it is still a major bummer, especially since this year I would have had my own board.

A great emptiness is engulfing me. But letting it out has eased a bit of the pain.

So I keep my head up and move on. Things will turn as they are supposed to. Life will turn out as it should. Because every new beginning comes from some other end.

….but it’s not.

xo

Leave a Reply

