Hump Day

At this writing it is only Tuesday. And such a long week already. I know my Wednesday posts are usually a great quote. Words to inspire, or motivate.

But today I want to talk about strength.

Being strong is one of the hardest things. And what tends to make it tougher, is that in life a lot of times strength and bravery go hand-in-hand. For someone like myself, with generalized anxiety disorder, the word bravery sometimes makes my skin crawl. So often do I have those moments, like a little five-year-old, where I just want to throw my head back and scream “I don’t want to!! I don’t want to drive the Frickin bus! I don’t want to go to work! I don’t want to deal with this drama anymore!” Yet might ornery streak that tells me to never die makes me put on my big girl panties and deal with it. Every day.

Often times I think we don’t realize how strong we really are. When things seem like it’s too much, and it feels like our prayers are not being answered, we just don’t think we can do it. And therein lies our problem: the word can’t. Which, by the way, is very different than the words I don’t want to 🙂

So what does any of this have to do with anything? Strength and bravery aren’t always visible things, or explanatory. It’s telling the Dr. you’re not leaving until they help your child. It’s going into a job interview that you’ve heard you won’t get. Strength is smiling when you’d rather cry. It is often the small things.

Plus, I just wanted to let y’all know, You’re stronger than you think. And braver than you believe. To quote Winnie the Pooh.

Have a great rest of your week

xo

Leave a Reply

