Positive Changes

Quitting the tracker has worked.

So has not eating breakfast (don’t go there :P. It’s just not for me).

Since I ditched my fitness band there have been a number of notable changes in my habits and my mindset. I didn’t realize how detrimental that was to someone like me who, when given a goal, will about kill themselves to reach it. I was pushing myself so hard that my body was having a reverse reaction. I’ve never been a push hard, killer cardio, aerobics, spin class fitness buff. When I decided to try it my body, especially my fragile heart (I have symptomatic mitral valve prolapse) said “Nuh-uh lady”.

There was this feeling that I had to be like the women in Shape. That I had to take the advice of so many people who lost a lot of weight/the trainers that helped them (see Biggest Loser) to be able to see results. Cardio! HITT! But let me tell you. Just because it works for some…OK a LOT of people, does not mean it is the right way for YoU!!

Which brings me to Yoga. This has been my go-to for years. Along with walking. Though it wasn’t until recently that I connected with the “other side” of it: meditation. It’s easy to “do” yoga. But there’s a lot more to it when you practice it. Learning to accept and find gratitude has allowed me to become at peace with myself in many ways. How I look at and think about things has evolved into not only positive, but proactive. I’m more mindful about how much I sleep, and how I treat others. It’s an amazing thing.

Though daily Yoga has been the foundation, there have been a few other things that got added in once my practice became as habit as brushing my teeth.

  1. I ditched sugar. Which really sucked for a while. I LOVE coffee with a boatload of cream and sugar. Sweet and tan, just like…well…yeah. 😉 Anyways, it was weird to go back to black coffee. And not getting a large Starbucks Salted Caramel or Chestnut Praline latte once or twice a week. It’s now a small once every two weeks. My treat to myself for behaving. The Christmas goodies in my house was also a kick in the teeth. So I shipped 1/3 of them to Illinois, gave 3 big bags out at work. Left us with enough spritz cookies for lunches and some Snickerdoodles and cut outs for Santa.
  2. Veggies. Roasted veggies. At almost every meal, if said meal doesn’t already have veggies in it. I have become accustom to putting spinach in/on/under everything. Roasted broccoli, cauliflower, zucchini, beans, asparagus. Mmmmm. 1/2 my plate is veggies. And it it goooooood.
  3. Laughing. I din’t realize how much this does for your health until I went out one night with a bunch of people from work. Drank VERY little, but laughed harder than I had in ages. And although I stayed out until 1am, I felt better than I had in months. And it was all because of 5 little words. But I can’t tell you that part.
  4. No more Beer. Probably the hardest of all. Not because I’m an alcoholic, not even because of the calories (though I’m sure it will help the waist line) but because on the one or two occasions per month that I did partake in drinking, I would wake up the next morning with chest congestion like I had bronchitis. No sure if it’s a hops allergy or what but…nasty shit. So I gave it up. A cider or glass of wine is what I allow myself now.
  5. Walking. But only when I feel like it.  No more “Oh I didn’t get 15,000 steps today, I have to walk til I drop even though I’m already dead on my feet”. I will take the kids to the Y with me, and only go when I have time. This serves 2 purposes. 1) we get to go oot and aboot together, and B) we all get out exercise.

That’s really it. Oh. No. I haven’t weighed myself but once since I quit tracking, either. I can feel my pants fitting better, and I feel better. And that’s really all that has mattered. I’m back on track to being me again. And I love it.

Do you have tips, tricks, or ideas to share? Please do so in the comments!

xo

 

 

One comment

  1. shakeclouds · December 24, 2014

    nice 🙂

Leave a Reply

