Just Breathe

Is there any two things that I have come to trust in life it is the fact that everything happens for a reason, and God never gives us more than we can handle. That said, sometimes it’s hard to understand the reason that certain things happen. Also, we know we’re not a bad ass. So why does God think we’re one?

Recently I’ve been thrown into these crossroads on what feels like an all too regular basis . It seems like every time I turn around something is amiss. Life, something with my kids, or drama with my son’s father.

Now, though, it is my job. I had one of those moments where you sit back and you look at yourself and say “self, why is this happening? What have I done to prove myself incompetent, unworthy?? Why can’t I win?” and then when you ask the person making the decision those questions (taking out the “self”, of course) they look at you and say “oh, well, it just seems to make sense when I made this choice”. There is no real answer. There is no concrete why. And this, of course, just makes you doubt yourself even more. Maybe it’s my hair. Maybe it’s the tattoos. Maybe it’s the fact that I like to say fuck a lot ( no I do not say that in front of clients or in earshot of the c-suite).

As I struggled with the acceptance of all of this, there are a few things that I’ve had to figure out. I’m sure it’s been in just about every self help book on the market. I’m sure it’s in every motivational podcast. But since you’re here, reading my blog, I will tell you! 🙂

1. Don’t sweat the small stuff.
What seems like a big thing today may not make a damn bit of difference in what you do. You have to ask yourself a couple questions every time you look at the situation; 1. What does this have to do with me? 2. Does this affect my bottom line? And 3. Is it going to matter tomorrow?

2. Don’t take it personal.
I am betting probably half of the things people do and say every day they do without a thought. There is no emotion there is no recognition of consequence, nothing. People make decisions because they have to. People make decisions because they think it’s the right thing to do. People make decisions just to make decisions. And probably 7 times out of 10 it doesn’t have a damn thing to do with you.

3. Put a positive spin on it.
Can I learn from it? Can I improve myself with it? Can I use it as a springboard?

4. Just breathe.

Nuff said.

When we look at anything we go through that way, everything does happen for a reason and we all really are badasses in our own way.

xo

Leave a Reply

