ADHD Oils

During said hiatus, I have discovered essential oils. LOVE oils.They make me, my office, and my home smell amazing.

As some of you may know from ancient posts, my ds J has ADHD. For those who don’t know, the short story: Kindergarten and first grade was a NIGHTMARE. A nightmare of epic proportions. When I got wind of the poor kid having to sit by himself in the corner, I took the bull by the horns, said enough, and forced the school to do testing on him. “Oh. Gee. Our bad.” they said. Severe ADHD and a 157 IQ. So he’s smart as fuck and faster than normal, not a bad kid.

I knew from the get go that I didn’t want to heavily medicate him. I wanted to help him focus but not lose my boy. He started on Intuniv, which he still uses today. When he hit puberty, we added in Concerta as a mood stabilizer. Both work well and don’t change the core of my kid. It’s great.

There are days, though. Not like “He’s being a dick and I can’t stand it!!” days. More like he’s been running fast and when he hits the wall he melts hard. When he gets worked up he cannot bring himself down. These situations also give him night terrors. He needed an emergency coping tool like an asthmatic needs an inhaler.

Now, if you look out there under Essential Oil Recipes for Calming (see Pinterest) you’re going to find a million. Seriously. But I don’t like to depend on the inter-webs for this kind of stuff so I went to the library and checked out some Ayurvedic treatment books. Good stuff!

There are a number of different oils used for relaxation. I used the following recipe (with explanations) and it is great. He carries his bottle with him and hasn’t had problems with panic attacks, night terrors, etc. in 3 months :). We call it Stop & Breathe.

  • 8 drops Lavender Essential Oils
    Lavender oil is the go-to for calming. It has amazing properties that encourage well being and alleviates tension and improves mood. It is also kid safe.
  • 8 drops Vetiver Essential Oils
    Vetiver is known as the Oil of Tranquility. This is due to it’s ability to calm and balance, as well as being a sedative to the nervous system.
  • 3 drops Cedarwood Essential Oils
    Cedarwood is known for its ability to calm anxiety and stress
  • 3 drops Frankincense Essential Oils
    Frankincense has been used for hundred of years and can be used to treat depression, anxiety, insecurity, and much much more.

Put into a 10 ml roller bottle and top with your favorite carrier oil. Apply to wrists as needed.

Let me know if you try it and how it works for you or your kid!

xo
c

 

 

Leave a Reply

