Learn From It. Deal With It

deal_with_it___rainbow_style__by_j_brony-d4cwgadAt some point in everyone’s life, there is bound to be something that will knock you down and take the wind right out of your sails. The what is different for all of us. It could be the loss of your home or job, a problem with your spouse, a child in trouble, a family dispute. Whatever the situation, you have choices to make in the handling of it and your reaction to it.

Yes, there was a time that when dealt these kinds of cards I would curse God. I would cry. I would want to give up, drowning myself in a drink or hiding in a cloud of pot smoke. For days, sometimes weeks. I would pull myself even further down into the black pit of hell, making the whole thing even worse.

Just that I don’t do that anymore, at least not for weeks on end, that’s one lesson learned. Sure, I might have a Brandy neat or a couple glasses of wine, but there’s no more binging. I wake up the next morning and figure out what I’m going to do now.

In these times of crisis, I find that there’s a three-step process that can help us through, and help us learn from the situation.

  1. Pray. This is hands down the easiest. Ask the lord for his help and support.
  2. Look at your role. What part did you play in the situation? Is there something you could you do differently next time?
  3. Let it go. Synonymous with the first, give it to God and let it go. Once a situation has happened, no matter what you do you cannot unhappen it!

That’s it! Calm your mind, find your responsibility, and move on.

What do you do when your world goes to shit??

xo

c

Leave a Reply

