Chicken & Veg

So. I have been Paleo for about a year and a half. I love what clean eating has done to my body; how I hard I can play, the quality of sleep that I get, and the overall good feeling it gives me.

Being someone who loves to cook, and does so at least six nights a week, you would think that I would post more recipes. The problem is, I don’t use recipes. If it requires measurement I use someone else’s recipe. Otherwise, I fly by the seat of my pants and no two meals taste the same. Because really, who the fuck has time to take out a recipe and follow it??

This one, though, this one is pretty easy. So I figured I would share. It’s not only easy but it’s freaking amazing.

Chicken & Veg

1 bell pepper, diced

1 bunch of skinny asparagus, cut into 1-inch pieces

1 medium zucchini squash, quartered and diced

1 medium onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 container pre-sliced mushrooms (I used baby Bellas, feel free to use whatever you love)

4 ribs of kale, stripped from the stock and chopped

1 small can sliced black olives

2 boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into thin slices

2 tablespoons olive oil, separated

1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

Salt to taste

Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add peppers and asparagus, sautéing until slightly tender. Add the rest of the vegetables, cooking until they are done to your liking. Remove from pan and set aside. 

Add remaining tablespoon of oil to the skillet and put in the chicken. Add a shake of salt, and sauté for 10 minutes, turning chicken to ensure browning on all sides.

Return sautéed vegetables to the pan with the chicken, adding the garlic and crushed red pepper flakes. Mix well and allow it to chill for another five minutes, blending all the flavors.

Ta-da! That’s it. Seriously. It’s amazing. My kids like it over rice or pasta, I eat it as is or over spaghetti squash. Soooo good.

You’re welcome 🙂

xo

c

Leave a Reply

