What Makes it Flow

I have been thinking a lot about sequencing. I know, I know. It’s a little early, as I’ve just sent in my scholarship application and can’t teach yet. At all. *sadness*
Still…When I start teaching, one of my goals is to make classes people want to come back to. I always think back to the teacher in Minneapolis, Mitchell. He was AMAZING. The class was active, bright, and sweaty. I wanted to kidnap him and bring him back to Oshberg. See, I’m a sucker for a good flow class.

There are a few teachers that are on yogadownload.com that really rock the flow, too. Christen Bakken, Outlaw Yoga, and Geenie Celento, just to name a few. Check them out. You won’t be disappointed!!

So. What (in my opinion) makes a good flow class? I’ll tell you…

  1. Good tunes
    SO IMPORTANT!! I’m sure you’re more than a little perplexed as to why this is at the top of the list, but one cannot flow to Poetic Lullaby or Ocean Mystery. Get some funk in there. Some house music. Yoga Journal has some sweet ideas for great flow music. Take a page from their playbook if you’re stumped for ideas.
  2. Short warm up
    Sure. It’s definitely important to get the body ready to flow. But 15 minutes of warm up is not needed. I’d rather do 10 cycles of Kundalini circles, 10 cycles through cat cow, and five sun a’s with some side bends and back bends than stretch 6 ways to Sunday for 10 minutes.
  3. Dynamic, not static
    When it’s time to go, let’s go! I would rather go through the sequence three or four times per side then sit in each pose for 5 breaths and only do the sequence once per side.
  4. Build it up
    Christen is great for changing up the sequence. She will cue the same poses through 2 reps then add on. And add on again. Granted, many of her longer (hour) classes build to a peak pose, but that’s awesome! At least no one gets bored. And when worked correctly, they can be an all levels class.
  5. Keep it fresh
    When your students can go through your class without listening to you, you know that you’ve lost them. As much as yoga is a place to lose yourself and not allow your thoughts to interfere, it’s also a place to challenge yourself and break away from the norm. Don’t let your class get stagnant.
  6. Find an inspiring text
    One of my favorite things a few of the teachers both here at home and on Yogadownload.com do is create a theme for the class. There are some great books out there with inspiring poetry. Find one. Read it. Build your practice around it. Talk about it during your warm up and read it during savasana. Your students will love it. I promise.

And there you have my recipe for a great flow. It may not mean much, as I’m not a teacher (yet), but as a student, this is what’s important to me!

What makes a class great for you?? Let me know in the comments! 🙂

xo
c

 

Leave a Reply

