Eat Well Easily – Pantry Staples

Food really is the be-all-to-end-all. It gives us energy, it can alter our mood, heal our bodies. It can also cause disease, contribute to obesity, and destroy our organs. It’s all about what you do with it.

I cook 100% paleo 90% of the time. People ask me for my recipes often. And when I give them up I get these blank stares followed by a “really?!?”. I don’t cook much that is terribly complex. Doesn’t need to be. Here are a few ingredients you should have on-hand. It really makes putting together a meal super easy.

Oils

The oil you use to create your meal can really make or break it. There are places to use EVOO and places to use coconut oil (CO). You can also use grapeseed, avocado, or sesame, but you’ll find the EVOO and CO are your go-to. Here’s how I use them:

EVOO: Roasting, sauteeing, salads, frying
CO*: Baking, butter replacement, coffee/tea, frying

*I like to get the unrefined coconut oil, which does have a distinct coconut flavor. The refined oil is a little more versatile, but I like the flavored stuff better.

Spices

Cooking with spices allows you to make some very tasty dishes without getting overly complicated. I LOVE Penzeys, as they have many salt-free blends, they do not contain chemicals and preservatives, and you can find just about anything you want. Just make sure you read the labels, some of the blends do contain sugar.

If you’re feeling really ambitious, you can make your own spice blends. I make my own taco seasoning, breakfast sausage seasoning, and Montreal steak seasoning.

My go to spice cabinet staples are Penzeys Mural of Flavor, Herbs de Provence, Rogan Josh, smoked paprika, garlic powder, and oregano. What are yours?

Flours

Whether you’ve got a hankering for fried pickles, stuffed peppers, or a mug cake, you’re going to need friendly flours. My top 3? Almond flour, coconut flour, and tapioca flour/starch. I can do just about anything with these 3 on hand.

That’s it! If you’re getting into paleo or doing a whole 30, these are the main pantry staples I would keep on hand. I’ll get into the food next time 🙂

xo
c

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

